top of page
Search
  • harrymateski33

Running into Spring 2022

4/5/22

The End is Near


My research project for the McNair program and Menard Center for Constitutional Studies is finally finishing up. The past several weeks have featured me slowly finishing up the last few suggestions provided by the McNair writing intern. A few weeks ago, I researched several policies around the UW System and other public universities around the country regarding window display bans. Many of them could be seen as content-neutral but may be too restrictive. A few other policies could be seen as not content-neutral.


Since the changes have been made, I have received several additions and alterations I could make from my mentor, Dr. Kasper. I intend to get those changes made by the Astra article deadline. I do not foresee myself getting a lot of those changes made in time for the poster presentation at CERCA. As much as it would be great, I have a capstone research project that is taking up a substantial amount of time as well.


Life After CERCA


I have a lot to look forward to after CERCA. The most recent development for me is getting accepted into the teaching program at UWEC. After over a month of waiting to hear back about my acceptance into the program, I finally got the reassuring email on April 5th. This acceptance will allow me to continue my path to becoming a social studies educator in Wisconsin. The first of the challenges towards licensure is now over. The next step is graduating.


I recently applied to be a summer resident assistant at UWEC for this summer. During my time working, I will make $400 per week. This should allow me to earn about $4000 doing pretty much the same things I was doing throughout the academic year. I will need to buy food over the summer which is a little different from the academic year resident assistant job. This job will help cover my expenses for next year and for the class I will have to take this summer. The last political science class I need for my major wasn’t offered this year and isn’t set to be offered next year. That made it imperatively clear that this summer would be much more eventful than I had first thought.


In My Next Blog Post


The next time I will make a post, it will be after my CERCA presentation. I will use my final blog post of the semester to update you all on my presentation at CERCA.






2 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page